Department of Energy

DOE Flag

Agency at a Glance

The United States Department of Energy (DOE) is responsible for policies regarding energy and safety in handling nuclear material. Its responsibilities include the nation's nuclear weapons program, nuclear reactor production for the United States Navyenergy conservation, energy-related research, radioactive waste disposal, and domestic energy production.

The DOE is a Cabinet-level department with over 13,000 Federal employees and over 90,000 contract employees. DOE operates 17 national laboratories and technical facilities for research and development. 

Annual Budget: $30.6Billion 

Secretary of Energy: Rick Perry

DOE Website


Follow EnergyOIG on Twitter @EnergyOIG
Follow us on Twitter